Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

SPT sampling and logging fill materials 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamoca67

Geotechnical
Oct 9, 2015
US
I'm a newbie to the forum! I've always had some difficulty interpreting the difference between fill materials vs. native soil materials when performing and logging SPT tests. I will appreciate people's thoughts, opinions, experiences and any online references/presentations addressing this matter. It is sometimes not as easy as it may seem. Is there anything specific to watch out for as far as soil fabric, contents, etc. inside the spoon?

Thank you for reading and for your interest.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes it can be difficult, but if in doubt say "Possible fill" and you are safe. Sometimes "Probable fill" will do it. Not logging it as fill and if it really is, there may be legal problems when the job turns out show it as fill. Same goes for some dolomite bedrock. Split spoon sample may look just like sand. On the job they find it is slightly weathered rock. On one job where the Wisconsin DOT decided to save some money for the state colleges building costs and do the drilling with state crews. On the job the inspectors classed that excavation as bedrock. Boy did that job ever run over on costs. Damned embarrassing for the state DOT geotech section.

Agree with oldestguy - if there is any thought that it might not be natural (a material out of the ordinary from nearby jobs - or the area's geological history) - best to alert those that it might be fill. I usually used "Probable Fill" rather than possible - semantics.

It is like investigating a crime - use all the evidence available. If you drill through a layer of grass and black topsoil, most likely everything above that is fill.

Natural soils at shallow depth may have roots in place, worm holes, root holes, or thin stratifications etc that tend to get smashed shut or disrupted during placement of fill.