Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

staad v/s ansys 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

vscid

Nuclear
Aug 5, 2007
US
What are the general differences / relative adv. and disadv. between Staad.pro and Ansys?
Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have not worked with Staad.Pro recently and never used Ansys. But I have several years of experience with other FEM-softwares.

To put it short, Staad.pro is not a FEM - software in the general sense. There ara a number of things you can't analyze in Staad that will be possible in Ansys. But as far as I know Ansys does not support design codes. And that I would say is the strengt of Staad.

If you are considering buying one of them I would recommend that you first decide what you need in terms of analysis capabilities. I don't want to be rude but I think you have some homework to do because the answer to your question is not just "a line or two".

Good Luck

Thomas

I have not used Staad for some time and it is now owned and operated by Bently, makers of Microstation drawing program. They have no doubt made technical support better than what Staad formerly had.

Staad does basic 2D well and some 3D but will have problems with larger DOF models. It does code checking, but at the rate the codes are changing, you and Bently have to keep up and that is not always a given. Moreover, you have to know how Staad uses the results of the analysis to check the code. For some cases this won't be obvious and yet it matters a great deal whether or not members pass or fail a code provision.