Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Standard petrol - anti static additives or just rely on earthing..?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamesbanda

Chemical
Sep 21, 2004
US
dear petrol experts.

I am a process engineer from the chemical industry. I apologies if this is an obvious question to those in oil and gas.

For petrol or gasoline do you solely rely on earthling /grounding at gas stations to prevent fires or do you use anti static chemicals.

It’s clearly a safe operation(otherwise more fires would be on tv) but I am trying to compare to a typical chemical plant. We inert all vessels containing hydrocarbons and those processing chemicals above their flash point. This is clearly not practical for petrol used in cars... so i'd like to better understand this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Antistatic additives are generally only added at the point of use, and that's usually only at airports. Pumping fuels with these additives tends to destroy their effectiveness. Airport refueling practice uses clip-on grounding wires, because flying tends to charge up aircraft with static, but I've never seen a ground wire at any gas station pump.

"Pumping accounts for 20% of the world’s energy used by electric motors and 25-50% of the total electrical energy usage in certain industrial facilities."-DOE statistic (Note: Make that 99% for pipeline companies)

Typically you will have no antistatic additives in the petrol. You will have grounding clamps for the truck that is unloading and the tanks will be grounded as well.

<<A good friend will bail you out of jail, but a true friend
will be sitting beside you saying ” Damn that was fun!” - Unknown>>

lets get terminology correct. Grounding means to ground. Bonding means between 2 pieces of equipment such that there is no potential between them.