Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Steam Engineer License

Status
Not open for further replies.

knight185

Mechanical
Sep 9, 2008
US
I am a mechanical engineer for a fossil power plant. Many of the senior engineers and some managers with 25+ years of experience have their PE license and/or steam engineer license. The work that I do as a plant engineer does not really qualify as PE work. But what about the steam engineer license? As an engineer on the technical staff, I do not supervise operators and I am not I allowed to operate any equipment. In my case, am I still eligible to get a license or not? All of the information I see online seems to refer to operators or supervisors of operators. My job responsibility includes troubleshooting equipment, directing contractors, and managing projects, such as boiler or turbine outages.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The work that I do as a plant engineer does not really qualify as PE work
Why????

I would go for your PE license. The Steam Engineer license is only a local license regulated by the Jurisdiction, and is for operation of the boiler only.

Most of my work is troubleshooting equipment problems and managing projects but I am not using any kind of detailed engineering analysis and design to do it. Maybe my perception of what PE qualifying work is wrong but the active PE's that I know are involved in design and analysis, using engineering concepts and calculations. I don't get involved in that kind of detailed analysis and my company doesn't push plant engineers to do that kind of work.

Agree with metengr...this is similar to one who drives a train being called an "engineer". It has little to do with the principles and practices of engineering, and everything to do with operation of a device or devices. A "PE" license is a professional designation that transcends locales and jobs. A "Steam Engineer" is a trade designation.