Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Steam Safety Valve Sizing

Status
Not open for further replies.

rugbymale

Mechanical
Apr 12, 2007
CA
I am a recent Mechancial Engineering graduate and have been asked to look into the addition of some steam safety valves. I am going over some calculations for safety valves that have been done by others in the past. The difficulty that I am having is with the steam capacity of the safety valve. It looks to me like in the past they have taken the rating of the PRV (lbs/hr) and multiplied by 1.25 in some cases and 1.1 in others. I am wondering what the proper way to calculate the steam capacity of the safety valve is.

Thanks,

Mike.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I forgot some information. The PSV would be down stream of a PRV on a 200 PSI steam line. The down stream pressure would be 150 PSI.

Look at the upstream safety valve setting. A line that OPERATES at 200 PSIG may very well have a safety valve set for 250 PSIG. For example, it could be fed from a boiler, with those safety valves set for 250. How much more will your PRV pass if something goes wrong back at the boiler, and the valve now has an inlet pressure of 250, rather than 200?

Get a copy of API RP 521. The 1.1 factor (times set pressure) is allowable overpressure in all be fire case. The 1.25 probably should be 1.22 which is the allowable overpressure for fire case.

David

API RP 520 title is Sizing, Selection and Installation of Pressure Relieving Devices in Refineries, Part I and II

API RP 521 title is Pressure-Relieving and Depressurizing Systems, Fifth Edition.

What did he say that makes you think he's working in a refinery?

David

Actually this is a steam distribution line at a university campus. We are looking at upping the pressure in the main line, and one of the distribution lines will need this new PRV station.