Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Steel for rocker arms machined from plate 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

motorsportsdesign

Automotive
Jul 23, 2003
US
I am planning the construction of some rocker arms machined from steel plate. I am not a steel expert so the best guess I have is to use H11 or H13. Any better suggestions? Material price should be under $20/lb to keep it practical and something reasonably machinable with carbide.

Jonathan T. Schmidt

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You are aware that tool steel requires heat treating (in this case an elaborate cycle) to develop its best properties, right?

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

"You are aware that tool steel requires heat treating (in this case an elaborate cycle) to develop its best properties, right?"

Yes, I've made thousands of parts from H13 for molds and dies. I am just interested to know if there is something better at up to about 4 times the price. I am looking to save weight on there parts so if there is a stringer material, I want to consider it.

Thanks

Jonathan T. Schmidt

I agree with Norsk, the H11 and H13 tool steels have specific composition and heat treat for high red hardness. If your rocker arms are red hot you could be in trouble. I would depending on section thickness use either 4140 or 4340 with a quench and temper. You could easily get strength of ~200ksi, if you need more strength you could try 300M and get ~280ksi.

I think that with the section size you are going to need to get the required stiffness, you will likely have almost the same weight with any steel alloy.