Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Steel Pipe Piles Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

StructENG82

Structural
Jan 12, 2016
US
I am a structural engineer working on a project with steel pipe driven piles. An issue has come up with the capacities of the steel pipe piles that were recommended by the geotechnical report. The geotechnical report made a recommendation of a pipe diameter and thickness (along with grade) that can't reach the required capacity. The pile supplier used the geotech report as the basis of the piles they supplied and claim this is industry standard. The geotechincal engineer admits their recommendation is incorrect but counters that the pile supplier should have hired their own engineer to do the pile design. As the structural engineer I am not involved with the disagreement but would like to know who is correct.

The question I have is it "industry standard" for pile suppliers to go off the recommendations of the geotechnical report or is it more standard for them to hire and engineer to design the piles? Also, is it required by code for the steel piles to be designed and certified by an engineer?

Thank you for responses!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Usually, the piles are already designed by the project's structural engineer with input from the geotech. The pile supplier just provides piling that meets the specifications for type of pile, type of steel, length, and yield strength. The supplier does not design the piles. On some jobs, it is clearly stated that the contractor also has to provide the design for the piles. (This is more commonly done for micropile jobs.) In this case, the contractor either has a professional engineer on staff to design the piles or hires a professional engineering consultant to design the piles. In my experience, suppliers do not design the piles.