Not open for further replies.

RaffStrEng

Aerospace
May 1, 2021
IT
Hi to everyone,

I am an aerospace stress engineer and I need support in the following question:

I modeled a beam fixed-free, two times, in hypermesh:
First, with shell elements and the second one with brick elements.
Then, I applied the same vertical load at each free side of beams and I ran the model with a sol101 in Nastran.

Now, I'm looking the output with hyperview and I see somethings doesn't feel right:
I have, in the same points, the same stress values in beam direction (and in the other directions) for both the beams, and these values are also in according to the values that I find using the classical beam theory.

The problem is that I find at the same points different strains between the two beams (shell and brick).

So I did this check:

i applied the stress-strain relationship (sigma =E*eps) to find the stress in beam direction by the strain in this direction:

the stress calculated by the solid beam strain (in beam direction) are in according to the stress values for classical theory and in according with the stress result by the FEM.

But, obliviosly, the shell beam strain output and stress strain relationship give me a wrong values.

Why does this happen?

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

shear strains (in the beam, not in the 3D model) ?

it does seem "odd" to model something (a slab ?) as a shell and also as a solid. The shell collapses the thru thickness freedom (that the 3D model models); a shell has not analytical thickness, the 3D model has actual thickness. The fact at the stresses are consistent says that the shell element code is correctly accounting for things not modelled.