Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Structural Analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

n39

Civil/Environmental
Jan 16, 2023
ID
Hi, I'm a fresh graduate in structural engineering. I realize that there are so many, way to many things to learn... I encounter some problem while learing stuff, such as:
1. What is two stage analysis, how do I use it, when do I use it (is it supposed when I had a basement?), I try to find these explanation on youtube or google, but it didn't help
2. I learnt about special moment frame, but about double moment frame, I know the shear wall resist most of the EQ load and the moment frame needed to be able to withstand 25% of the EQ load. But that's it, that's what I know. I don't know how to design it in ETABS, how do I control my design so that the moment frame can withstand 25% of the EQ load???
3. How do you calculate EQ load for basement?
4. I've learnt about special moment frames, but there is so much detailing... Usually I depends on the ETABS results (mostly PMM, long./shear reinforcement, B/C ratio, etc) but that's it. I rely on a software too much I think, I can calculate them actually, but it takes a lot of effort. I mean do you really need to understand all of those, or can you simply use ETABS results on designing a building?
5. I have some books, the seismic design handbook, seismic design of reinforced concrete, reinforced concrete mechanics and design. I try to read them. But the problem is, I don't know what to learn... It's like deadend to me

What I'm trying to say is that I'm kinda lost right now, because I felt like I don't have any clue on how to design a building despite all of my study... What should I do? How do you learn all this stuff?

Thank you, really appreciate for you guys who reply

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Step 1: take a deep breath.