Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Structural Engineers! Suggestions? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

davab

Structural
Sep 22, 2012
US
Hello everyone,

I have been working at a structural engineering firm for about two months now. As I am sure everyone experienced, the codes can be really long and tricky, especially without much experience. IBC, CBC, ASCE, ACI, NDS, etc..
Do you guys read the codes to study them on your on? What would be a nice way of studying them, if any.
Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes, I have been known to pick it up and read it. They are quite long but most of the studying I do is for a particular subject when they come along...it's not like I just sit down and try to learn topics that I don't need for a specific job at the time.

Getting started though there is no substitute for experience and most of what you are probably going through will just take time to work through.

PE, SE
Eastern United States

"If a builder builds a house for someone, and does not construct it properly, and the house which he built falls in and kills its owner, then that builder shall be put to death!"
~Code of Hammurabi

Look on the bright side. They change every few years and you have to relearn a whole new set of rules, many of which don't make any sense.....

They change every few years and you have to relearn a whole new set of rules said:
They change every few years and you have to relearn a whole new set of rules

..sigh...but very true.

PE, SE
Eastern United States

"If a builder builds a house for someone, and does not construct it properly, and the house which he built falls in and kills its owner, then that builder shall be put to death!"
~Code of Hammurabi