Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Structure stability calculations 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

antonmichel

Civil/Environmental
Feb 2, 2019
ES
Dear Engineers,

I am a civil engineer with a little experience, I have been asked by an architect to check if a building is stable or not. How can I check this?

I am not asked for detailed design or calculations, I have been asked just to check if the building is stable or not with very simple calculations, the building is a bit complex like the pictures shown.

Thank you all in advance,

Anton
34Modern-Architecture-_rqymge.jpg

dam-images-daily-2015-06-50-modern-buildings-modern-architecture-design-museum-01_l9ycgr.jpg

images_elf3ta.jpg

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm going to read between the lines here and give you some minor hints.

Think loadpaths - driver smashes into a column, will the building stand up? Are there any alternative ways for the building to stand up i.e. at the very least not collapse? There are other similar situations you will need to think about.

Its all about robustness. Make some simple sketches showing these loadpaths with some bullet points and a bit of explanation.

gl

Thank you for responding,

I didn't really understand what do you mean, i have a very little experience, can you please tell me how can i make a simple report with simple calculations to check the stability for an architect?

thank you,

Anton