Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Structures Book

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmuriarte

Automotive
Oct 28, 2005
ES
Hello everybody:

Could you recommend me a good book of aircraft structures design?.
I am an Industrial designer and I would like to learn about this kind of structures.

Thank you very much.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Analysis & Design of Flight Vehicle Structures by Bruhn is by far the most widely used Aircraft structures book. I have used it nearly every day in my stress engineers training.

Flabel's Practical Stress Analysis for Design Engineers is an excellent practical text, with many real-world examples. Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain is also a very useful resource, containing all the raw beam and frame formulas you'll need to perform classical strength and deflection analysis.

Flabel's book is good but basic stressing. More complicated topics are not covered.

Bruhn is good but can be confusing. Make sure to acquire one of the many indexes available.

For design sizing Niu's "Airframe Stress Analysis and Sizing" is currently the best (my opinion, of course).

For general structural design Niu's original "Aircraft Structural Design" is good.

For the basics "Understanding Aircraft Structures" by John Cutler is good and cheap.

Practical Stress Analysis for Design Engineers is a very good book as an introduction to aircraft stress. I would recommend reading this before going on to Bruhn.