Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Struggling with Basic Masonry Design Problem 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Usman3301

Civil/Environmental
Jul 11, 2019
CA
Hi everyone,
I'm in a bit of mess currently, due to Masonry Design of Hollow blocks - fully grouted. Thing is I'll pursuing master's from abroad starting this fall and already have informed my boss that I'll be leaving office at the end of this month. While I have extensive experience in Reinforced Concrete Structures, masonry structure design is uncharted territory for me.

My boss has asked me to quickly perform calculations and prepare structural assessments to verify if the proposed masonry design is acceptable. The urgency of the situation has left me feeling overwhelmed, as I'm unsure where to even begin. Had it been a week or two, I would have brushed up Masonry Design basics and would have definitely come up with a solution.

Considering the ordeal I'm currently facing, I would be immensely grateful if someone could kindly lend me a helping hand with this task. Any guidance, resources, or expertise you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

I've shared the problem statement in PDF as well as image format.
QUERY_ixpemr.png

BSc. Graduate

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The reinforced masonry design is the easy part.

First, what's your load path? Is this a cantilevered wall? Is the wall supported by a continuous floor diaphragm at the top? Maybe fixed at the bottom and pinned at the top?

Second, I would expect the seismic force to be applied at the center of mass. Why the 2/3 number? What is the origin of the seismic mass? Just the wall?

Why the two layers of 6" CMU? Is this all existing construction? This seems odd to me. You can't use one 12" CMU?