Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Study in One, Practice in Another?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TnVEngr

Mechanical
Oct 8, 2013
US
This is my first post. I have been on this site for the past few years, mostly reading the Boil & Pressure Vessel and ANSYS posts for information about things that have plagued others over the years. However, I finally find myself with a question that I don't see anyone asking around here. If there are previous posts about this that I somehow missed, please do send them my way.

I have a degree in civil and environmental engineering. Since I graduated, I worked for about 4 years in the cryogenic tank and vessel world doing structural, thermal, and dynamic analysis for a relatively small company. About 3 months ago, a headhunter called me with an offer I just couldn't refuse. Now I work for a very large company in a world where people hold a person's degree higher than his experience and it's starting to make me worry.

I planned on taking the PE exam this upcoming April or October. I do not plan on getting a PE in civil/structural design since that is not what I've been practicing these past 4 years. Would it be odd for me to hold a PE license in mechanical systems with a BS in civil engineering? Are there any more seasoned engineers out there who are like me? Should I perhaps get a MS in mechanical engineering to "prove my worth" as a mechanical engineer?

Any and all input on this will be greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you