Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Successful PDM Works proposals to Management?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SolidsMaster

Mechanical
Feb 10, 2005
US
Looking for some creative ways to stress the usage of a PDM system (PDM Work in particular) to management and cost associated with not having it. Please let me know, every day is another crisis of copied, deleted, renamed, or moved file nightmare! I've been pushing it for several months now. I'm a highend user and know the software, but don't know the management....Help!

J

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The big one for is the history. PDMWorks will keep the rev history without making full copies of each part/assy/dwg. Without it, most companies will make copies of each with the rev in the file names. The folders wil get very big very fast. Also, in PDMWorks it is a quick way to do searches for P/N's, you can rename a P/N and PDMW will update all related assys/dwgs, and PDMW will control who has access to released models and who doesn't. There is much more. There are videos you can download and watch that show much of this.

Chris
Sr. Mechanical Designer, CAD
SolidWorks 05 SP1.1 / PDMWorks 05
ctopher's home site

J,
Management likes to see numbers. Keep track of the hours spent coping, deleting, renaming, or moving files. Put a dollar figure to the hours, we use $100 per hour. Show this to management and I bet they would pay the little extra for PDM Works.