Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Suggest a good textbook on Organisational Behaviour/managing and working with people?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nereth1

Mechanical
Feb 2, 2014
AU
Hi Everyone,

I'm a relatively young engineer in a relatively small manufacturing company. I have always considered myself more of a technical engineer but I recently have been told by my higher-ups that I am going to have to start managing people more and more in my career, which is going to require some gap-filling, because I have been pigeon holing myself into a technical role and have not practiced the relevant business and management skills.

The first thing I have been told to do is get a book on the topic of organisational behaviour and go cover to cover quite thoroughly. I wasn't able to get a recommendation on an appropriate book, but the advice has been to find a big heavy tome of a book with a lot of content.

I have found in other fields, there are usually a couple of books considered 'bibles' in the field. The ones everyone in that field has on their book shelf. Is there something like this for organisational behaviour? Google gets me several hits but very few discussions on what is good and what is not. I am legitimately interested in improving in this area, but I don't yet have the competence to be able to pick good from bad, so I have to be able to trust whatever I will read.

Can anyone recommend some thorough books on organisational behaviour, appropriate for someone with no management background or similar, but which go into enough detail as to be useful?

Thank you very much.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you