Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Suggested best resources / avenues to search for jobs in Houston, TX 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

SNORGY

Mechanical
Sep 14, 2005
CA
As the heading suggests, I am seriously considering relocating from Canada to Houston, for personal and professional reasons.

My background is 29 years in upstream oil and gas EPC, doing everything from Project Management / Project Engineering to Mechanical Engineering to Piping Stress Analysis (CAESAR II) to even a bit of (*GASP!*) Process...

I have no experience (nor credentials) as an MBA...I assume that that particular fact would be of great benefit...not that I am in any way bitter...

I would imagine that I should start by taking the FE and PE exams; they became mandatory several years ago, from what I understand. (Sucks to be me I suppose.).

I do have a few contacts with engineers based in Houston whom I have worked with from time to time when they have had business interests up here; one company in particular calls me when they have work to do in my region that requires my skill set. I do plan to pay them a visit the next time I am down there for a vacation with family.

Does anyone have any other suggestions for the best avenues that would be available to me to scope out the employment prospects, the companies who are ramping up, etc. in that area? (On-line paper ads, names of companies who might be looking, emerging markets, networking avenues, etc.) I welcome any suggestions.

Regards,

SNORGY.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

networking, networking, networking . . .

been awhile (< 10yrs) since i worked there . . . I wish you good luck & happy living!