Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Supporting steel structure on compacted crushed rock

Status
Not open for further replies.

engineer1968

Mining
Jun 20, 2014
US
Hello Civil Engineers. Pardon my ignorance. I am a mechanical engineer designing a steel structure for a construction site.
Basically it is a 30ft x 12ft platform with 8 legs (can be more legs). The fabrication plus the large tooling it carries weighs 30 tons (60,000 lbs).
The thing is intended to sit outside on a prepared compacted area. Here is my question. If for simplicity each leg carries 60000/8 legs= 7500 lbs.
Lets say I put a square steel foot on the bottom of each leg 12" x 12" (144 square inch). 7500 lbs/144 in^2 = 52 psi (or 7500 lbs/square foot) load on the aggregate pad.
Assuming the load is evenly distributed on all 8 legs to simplify. Is there a specification I can use to make sure the compacted pad is up to the job?
I want to be able to say something like " make 20 ft x 40 ft pad 3 feet thick of aggregate x. Compact until it meets Proctor(?) test ?% compacted."
The pad is elevated in an are where water accumulation is not an issue. Again, pardon my ignorance. I would appreciate some help in how to spec this pad
so that it can handle the weight of my structure. Thanks. The contractor uses crushed scoria rock but I can spec something else if need be.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you