Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Survey 101 For The Design Office 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

RJLDesign

Civil/Environmental
Jul 12, 2003
AU
This question is for the old survey junkies out there. I am a civil designer in Australia and for the record my survey skill are limited so please excuse my terminology and knowledge.

As a designer I rely on the terrain model provided highly but lately I have found that the survey being provided by young surveyors from various companies is getting worse and worse.

Simple thing like when surveying a road crown they are not making it a break line and the road triangulation is shows that it has no crown. Power poles no picked up and simply picking up levels incorrectly. The survey firms that the consultancy I work for use are regarded to be some of the best in the country but yet I am finding it is getting harder and harder to get survey that I can honestly rely on.

Have the more experienced surveyors out there in the world found that the younger graduates that come through now a days take allot of shots yet seem to really pick up very little information? or is it just a localised thing that I will have to live with.

I hate as a designer to have to sit down with surveyors and pick what is wrong with there work. Once upon a time I had no need to ever visit a site because the survey was so effective knew almost every blade of grass to the site. Now I have to go out just to make sure what they have located is really as shown and see what they have missed.

Will the survey Gods smile upon me again one day and help me with this madness

Rj

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I understand this.

I think that the problem lies with the surveyor not understanding what he is doing his work for. This could either be due to a lack of education at University or a lack of training by the surveyors employers.

AustDesign,