Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Swell Pressures and Overexcavation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnnyB_

Structural
Feb 1, 2022
US
Hello -

I am a residential structural engineer trying to correlate the amount of overexcavation required in order to approximate post construction heave and settlement of less than 1 inch. For instance, I just received a geotechnical report that estimates the swell potential of the soil to be any where between 3500 psf and 7600 psf. The report is recommending a 2.5 foot overex for spread footings. How are they coming up with the amount of overex needed in order to properly mitigate the structural movement due to soil settlement/swell potential? Is there a good rule of thumb or some type of white paper on this correlation?

The reason I am curious is, due to my location in rural Colorado, it is very hard to get a full geotechnical engineering report within a reasonable timeline. Too much work not enough geotechnical engineers. The way I am trying to bypass this issue is to classify the USCS soil type using ASTM C136 and if the fines are greater than 15% I will have the geotechnical engineer run a swell/consolidation test on the soil giving me a potential psf swell value. Using this potential psf swell value I will estimate the overex needed to support the structure.

Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you