Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

switch back stair analysis/design 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

matrixeric

Structural
Apr 19, 2007
Dear All:
I am a structural engineer who has never done stair analysis/design ...for one of the projects I am currently working on the client wants us to design a "switchback" stair.The spans are such that deflections are becoming a big head ache esp when I apply the uniform live load on one flight of stairs only and nothing on the other flight or landing ...Upon searching IBC etc I got the design loads to be the worst effect of a uniform load of 100 psf or a conc. load of 300 lbs; but these do not tell me if I can assume a percentage of this 100psf load to help with the deflections esp. when I apply the load ONLY on one flight of stairs in the unbalanced load case....
Please let me know if there is a reference/code out there that addresses this issue. Any advice would greatly help me in designing this stair.

Thanks.
MatrixEric

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have never designed stairs, but have checked several sets of calcs that have come in for jobs we are doing. I have never seen a stair stringer treated as a continuous span (as you are suggesting). Maybe this is a function of the switchback stair (I have never heard of this). If, however, you are designing continuous spans I have to think you must consider skip loading to provide the most critical conditions similar to any continuous beam.

What member is seeing the unacceptable deflections, stringers or column? How are you modeling the stringer connection at the top (to a slab or deck angle?) and at the bottom?

I will try to answer all of your questions at the same time: