Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Switch to Civil Engineer - Transmission Design 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dutchie

Structural
Sep 19, 2003
CA
Hi everyone,

Looking for a little advice. I am currently a civil/structural engineer with good experience in commercial/industrial design. I am interested in making the jump into a utility and working as a civil engineer. The type of work out there seems to be primarily transmission design work for the structures.

Just wondering what type of things I should be looking into to get the experience I would need. Are the structural skills gained when designing buildings and so on going to be transferable to this field. Any comments or suggestions. I realize there is a lot to know, but just a prod or two in the right direction would help me on my way.

dutchie

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Code nuances are bit different than buildings, but not significantly so. If you have structural design experience, you should be able to do this type of design without a great deal of difficulty.

Dutchie,
Glad to see you are keeping your options open and that you are looking into the utility field. I am a civil engineer and have worked in the electric utility industry since 1977. I think that historically this field has been dominated by EE and has not been a glamorous "high-tech" career. However I find it to be very stable employment with a higher average pay than most civil/structurals in other industries. It also seems like utilities and consultants are recognizing that a lot of the work is civil, not electrical, and starting to hire more CEs. There are two companies in my home town looking for just that.