Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Switching from Pro/E to SolidWorks -- is this wise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

will421

Industrial
Jul 14, 2001
US
I'm looking into switching from Pro/E to SolidWorks. We have a large database of Pro/E parts and assemblies (25gig) that we use every day. My questions are:
1. If you made the switch, were you able to translate the parts and assemblies over to SolidWorks?
2. The majority of our design work are simple sheet metal parts (flanges, tabs and some forms) so which program is better?
3. Is there an improvement in productivity?

If you have any other comment, I would appreciate them.
Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Will,

I am a former Pro/E user, and let me start by saying this... The time that it would take me to design a part in Pro, was in this case about 2 hours I accomplished the exact same part in Solidworks in about 20 minutes.

Soldiworks is very easy to use, and extremely powerful software. If you are using sheetmetal there are a wide variety of tools that you can use to make your life easy.

The data from pro can be converted to Solidworks relatively easily as well, in fact SWX has Pro/E translators built-in and if you run into a version issue there are other methods that work well.

I would highly recommend that you check it out. I teach a lot of people in my day and every Pro/E guy i have ever had through my class is just in awe at the ease of use, and powerful tools...

Hope that convinces you to look at it

Regards,
Jon
jgbena@yahoo.com