Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SWPPP pre and post watershed analisys in HydroCad

Status
Not open for further replies.

dravn

Chemical
Jan 7, 2015
US
I am new to hydrocad and have some basic questions I need help with. Any comments are most welcome.
I have a 7.8 acres site that I am analyzing for pre and post watershed conditions for a SWPPP report.
Basically, the existing site is being modified to include an additional 4.3 acres of impervious areas.
I had an engineer friend do a preliminary hydrocad model for this analysis, but I am struggling to understand how the modeling was done.
The modeling has 2 subcatchments: 1S- pre existing conditions and 2S- proposed conditions. Subcat 2S outflows on to 3P (proposed drywells).
All areas are properly assigned with their respective CN. The final report shows an area of 15.5 acres because I believe it is assuming the pre existing and proposed conditions combined.
Is this the right way to enter the modeling data? Shouldn't it be done separately with one analysis for the pre existing conditions and another for the proposed? I have tried to read the manual and figure it out how it should be done, but I am afraid I'm getting nowhere.

Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

yes, to correct the final area in the report, split the HCAD file into two files - one for the existing conditions model, and then one for the proposed.

if you are comfortable editing the file by hand, you can edit it in NOTEPAD or any other text editor. otherwise, it would only take but a minute for your engineer friend to do it...