Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Take a day off after attending a conference 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

petkammi

Mechanical
Dec 2, 2004
US
I was supposed to do market research in a particular field and attend any conferences related to that field. After good research found that a conference was held in Very-Nice city. Got permission from the manager to attend it.

Later I thought, going so far anyways, why not take the friday off and go sight seeing over the weekend in this Very-Nice city (ofcourse, spending from my own pocket). Got permission to take a day off. But when I said that I was going to spend the day in Very-Nice city, he said that it could be unethical and would need the VP's permission!

Respected professionals, please help me as I am a budding engineer and want to be in the ethically strong group. I am thinking very hard to see how my situation could be unethical. Could anyone please shed some light.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I've done this twice before with employer's blessing. I paid my own way for my days off. My employer adjusted the air travel itinerary accordingly. No extra cost incurred on part of my employer.

I don't see what's unethical about it.

There is nothing wrong with your spending extra time in a city on the companies airfare. My company has no problem with employees spending personal time on trips as long as the extra expenses are on the employee and not the company. My company also allows spouses to travel if the employee pays the extra cost. My company management see that as a little extra perk that costs them nothing extra, so why should they care?

I don't see anything remotely unethical about that, provided that any expenses (hotel, meals, etc.) that you incur on your own time are paid for by you.