Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

tapered case depth, carburization vs induction hardening

Status
Not open for further replies.

lfw618

Mechanical
Oct 4, 2018
US
Hello, I am a mechanical engineer, could use some input on metallurgical capabilities.

I have a round part that has diameters from 3/4", which are critical, down to less than 1/2". I need a deep case, around .06" on the critical diameters. I am looking to case harden, probably either carburize or induction harden.
I would like to have the deep .06" case on the critical diameters, but shallower (down to around .015"-.03") on the smaller diameters, to help avoid cracking concerns. Would either carburization or induction hardening be a suitable process to create this variable case depth?

Material would most likely be 8620 for carburization or 1038 for induction hardening.

(~60 hrc for the surface hardness, ~50 hrc for effective case depth if that makes a difference)

thank you in advance!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm no metallurgist, but there is not much carbon (.17-.23% ?)in 8620 until it is carburized, so I'm thinking 8620 out of the box probably won't respond much to induction hardening.

Tmoose, yea I meant to say that 8620 would be the intended material if carburization would work, and that we would use 1038 if induction hardening were to be used.

AidanMc, OK, that would be an issue. Do you think you might still be able to control case depth depending on location, even if you may not be able to achieve 60 hrc with 1038?