Temperature Cross - better understanding 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hari1207

Mechanical
Mar 9, 2020
SA
Hello all!

I'm new to Shell & Tube Heat Exchanger Thermal design and I have come across the term "Temperature Cross" in Counter flow Shell & Tube Heat Exchanger.

What is Temperature cross in Counter flow Shell & Tube Heat Exchanger?

I read in Heat Exchanger Design Handbook by Kuppan Thulukkanam (2nd Ed), it is written as follows in the screenshot.

I have also posted my question in the same image.

Please explain me to understand this term in a better way.

Temperature_cross_definition_tqe2mz.jpg

Thanks in Advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hello MintJulep,

I don't understand your answer. Your answer is just the explanation of the counter flow heat exchanger.

Also your statement "At every point along the length Thot > Tcold" is contradicting from your picture. Please have a look again.

Thanks for any response related to Temperature cross.

At the left side:
The hottest hot fluid goes in and the hottest cold fluid goes out.
The hot fluid is hotter than the cold fluid, so heat is transferred from hot to cold.

At the right side:
The coldest hot fluid goes out and the coldest cold fluid goes in.
The hot fluid is hotter than the cold fluid, so heat is transferred from hot to cold.

In the middle:
Middle temperature hot fluid flows left to right.
Middle temperature cold fluid flows trigger to left.

At any other point along the length the same thing is happening.

The hot fluid is always hotter than the cold fluid at the same point, so heat is transferred from hot to cold.

Thank you. This is my understanding of Counterflow heat exchanger working same as yours. However my question is about the Temperature cross. Also about the extract from the book.

Please share your insights if you know anything about it.

Thanks again for your time.