Structural
Oct 1, 2024
US
IMG_7098_mjbwzz.jpg
IMG_7101_lwmupr.jpg
IMG_7096_wojkg5.jpg

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This tennis court has three courts on its foundation.
There was a fall due to player falling because foot got stuck in crack.
Months later, another fall with a breakage of wrist. It was on the same foundation but no visible signs of cracks or anything to blame fall on. Could the foundation have been to blame for the second fall?

Months later, another fall with a breakage of wrist. It was on the same foundation but no visible signs of cracks or anything to blame fall on. Could the foundation have been to blame for the second fall?

Seems possible; the court surface does not look flat; there seems to be a slope toward the crack.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

As to a legal opinion - you can probably buy an "expert" to testify to anything.

The crunched up part isn't good and could be seen as a tripping hazard, tripping is conventionally from failure to lift a foot high enough to clear an obstacle. That obstacle is not high enough trip most people.

People use high-traction shoes on tennis courts and make significant changes in speed and direction; a change in the condition of the surface can certainly result in unexpected traction, but so can the fence.

It appears the courts are sloped to drain water off and that drainage is now partly into the crack. Digging out the damaged material and putting in a proper seal will help the life of the court.

I like that has been said above.

Between "...Digging out the damaged material and putting in a proper seal will help the life of the court." and "Could the foundation have been to blame for the second fall?", I would go with the former. Makes life easier and seems cost-effective.