Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

tetiary loop,vfd,bypass 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

saeedplc

Electrical
Nov 27, 2021
IR
Dear Experts,

I have some questions so could you please answer me.

1)What is function of pump in tertiary loop?
2)Is there any need to have a decouple line between secondary loop and tertiary loop or there is no need?
3)If there was VFD for secondary pump and a differential pressure transmitter in last component on the loop is it necessary
to have a bypass loop on the end of line or there is no need because pressure transmitter send signal to the VFD and the
secondary pump reduce it's speed and vice versa.

I will be appreciated to explain these because I am new in this field and above questions have occupied my mind a lot[bigsmile]

Regards,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It depends on your system. A de-coupled loop will be added when an independent flowrate is required. Any of the separate loops can use a variable speed pump under certain conditions.

Thank you for the prompt reply

Could you please answer all questions as well as introduce me a good resource to find more details

Too little information given. The decisions on type of loops, pumps and controls depends on equipment and system requirements. I don't even know if you have chiller or boiler system.

IMHO a variable primary flow is the best option and loops only get added if really necessary. In the old day with crude controls and equipment, more loops were needed. Now things are more advanced.