Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Textbooks and Readings? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

McVities

Geotechnical
May 20, 2006
CA
Hello,

I'm a new engineer that has just recently graduated form university. I have a job at an engineering company in the geotechnical department.

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for any 'must have' readings and textbooks to use for reference on the job.

Thanks.

McVities

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Some suggestions for your library....

1. Terzaghi and Peck
2. Sowers
3. Das
4. Winterkorn and Fang
5. Bowles
6. Lamb and Whitman for laboratory

Many of these are out of print, so go to Amazon.com and put in a "find" order for them.

This is a question that could probably be searched on the Eng-Tips site as it has come up on several occasions. I would suggest the following:

1. M.J. Tomlinson, "Foundation Design and Construction" 6th edition - although the 3rd and 4th are good editions too.
2. Terzaghi & Peck (1967) - better to start with this one than the updated one that added Mesri (1995) as an author.
3. Tschebotarioff - 1973 edition although the 1951 has some very valuable case histories.
4. M.J. Tomlinson's "Pile Design and Construction" - Viewpoint Press. - excellent book
5. US Army Corps of Engineers Design Manuals and NAVDOCs DM 7.1 to 7.3 (See VulcanHammer's website for downloads).
6. Cedergren on Seepage and Groundwater Control (forgot exact title off-hand).
7. US Federal Highway Agency (FHWA) - Design Manuals - geotechnical section. (downloadable from FHWA site)
8. ICSSMFE Mexico Conference State of the Art Volume.
9. Polous' state of the art paper to the Instanbul ICSSMFE Conference in 2001. (I once found this on an internet search but haven't be able to recently.)