Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

The elimination of registration to ISO 9001-2008 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Histogram

Industrial
Apr 28, 2008
US
I would like to present a topic for discussion. The elimination of registration to ISO 9001-2008 Quality Management Systems. If a company followed the ISO 9001-2008 as a guideline for their QMS and used this system to its fullest with the discipline required to gain the most out of it but without employing a registering body what would the ramifications be? In my opinion as a quality professional I know that having an ISO 9001-2008 registered company indicates nothing about the quality of products or efficiency of operations. It only indicates this company basically purchased the registration. Any thoughts on this postulation?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The ramification is that you would be shipping a product with few nonconformences. You may even have the best and cheapest left handed smoke shifter on the market. As a user, I'd lament that I would like to use your product, but you are missing that one specification on my RFQ.

The ISO-9000 process is just a set of quidelines necessary for a quality program. If a company is ceritfied, there is an outside body that states that the program meets minimal guidelines. You are right, if you plan to make a poor product, you can tailor an ISO-9000 program that will still allow you to make poor products.

The companies that I've worked for have had their own QMS programs in effect. In most cases they were making a fine product. Howerver new customers were always an issue. If they would talk to us, a detailed customer review of the QMS would be required. It was easier in the long run to make the modifications in our QMS and get and maintain the ISO-9000 certification. After certification, most of these vists stopped.

--Mike--