Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Thermal stress at circumferential weld, acceptance criteria 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

wacee

Mechanical
Jun 13, 2024
FR
Hello all, I'm a newly graduated mechanical engineer trying to navigate all the different standards.
I have simulated the thermal stress at a circumferential weld between two different metals but I am not sure to what acceptance criteria I can compare these values. Looking into ASME B31.3, can I compare the simulated longitudinal stress sigmazz to the Basic allowable stress S ? or the shear stresses simulated to 0.8 S, the allowable shear stress ?

Thank you for your insight !

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

wacee - good question and thank you for asking.

Before you start diving into comparing certain stresses to other certain allowables, I need you to rethink your premise and ask yourself - how will this stress cause a "failure" - and more specifically, what is the failure mode? Since it is a thermal stress (cause by satisfying compatibility, it is not related to burst (or plastic collapse), which is caused by stresses that satisfy equilibrium. Since it is not plastic collapse (burst), then you are left with buckling (only if some of the stresses are compressive), ratcheting (progressive incremental inelastic deformation), or fatigue. Start looking in that direction before deciding what is the appropriate criteria.

You mentioned ASME B31.3. Is this application a B31.3 Code situation?