Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Thin laminate toughness - single or multiple (woven) plies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarbonDog

Mechanical
Feb 26, 2014
AU
Hi All,

I'm a mechanical engineer (Automotive) of ~15yrs, looking to establish my own enterprise, designing and manufacturing high-end wheels for the road cyclist.

I'm in the proof of concept / attribute prototype phase of my project, where I have functional hardware fundamentally performing as I would hope. I'm still fairly green to composite design, analysis and testing (enough knowledge to be dangerous!)so I have elected to conduct an iterative approach to defining the laminate(s) rather than analysis based (other than back of napkin stuff) due to:

- Limited analytical competencies specific to composites (& lack of appropriate software)
- Flexibility in tool to accommodate variation in ply count and schedules (to some degree)
- Fairly low cost and ease of manufacture for test components assemblies (2pcs CNC'd heated Alu mold, pressurized bladder for consolidation - up to 10bar)

I'm currently looking for the best laminate definition as a starting point for my design development and verification, pretty much just based on reverse engineering competitor products (not plagiarizing - just bench-marking!), and my understanding of good composite practices.