Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Threaded Hole Position Tolerance

Status
Not open for further replies.

BfdDan

Mechanical
Nov 29, 2006
US
I am a new engineer and am working on a project and am specifying the location of 3/4" ANSI Standard Hex bolts and need to know how to tolerance the position of the holes with respect to eachother, i.e. I have four bolts in a rectangular pattern. If anyone knows a good source for this type of information I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Dan

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Basically, subtract the bolt hole diameter
from the minimum hole diameter and divide
by two. This would be the true position
tolerance on each set of holes. Normally
shops can do better than this and you might
want to tighten up the tolerance. This is
a general guideline.

This is usually built in to the standard fabrication tolerances. It's not common to call out a tolerance on the location of either tapped holes or their corresponding clearance holes for the bolt. The difference between the actual OD of the bolt and the ID of the clearance hole (usually a bit more than 0.78 for a 3/4 bolt) make up for anything but a gross hole positioning error by the fabricator. If you use standard taps and clearance hole drill sizes and end up with parts that won't assemble then you should probably look into getting your parts made elsewhere.

If you are going to use simple dimensions
between the holes, .70 times the values
that I mentioned earlier would apply for
a rectangular tolerance. Then use 1/2
of that value for the plus and minus
tolerance value on the dimensions between holes
which would be a rectangular pattern
inside of a circular tolerance.
For example: if the holes were .78 and the
bolt .75 would give you a difference of