Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Three RF Signals Combined to form New RF Sig...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hawaiiankong

Military
Oct 28, 2009
US
I work for the Air Force on air traffic control equipment. Right now we're experiencing a problem with three 10-watt transmitters (132.025, 135.6, and 140.975) that, when transmitted simultaneously, cause that signal to be received on any receiver tuned to 126.65.

I'm not an engineer, but I have been working with these systems for a long time, and I am very frustrated by this. The best theory I can come up with is frequency heterodyning (but not sure), and the only FH formulas that I can find can only combine two frequencies to form something completely out of left field.

Can somebody tell me what might be happening here?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Two frequencies create a third... that new signal can then combine with others. You have three signals, so it's not as simple as just two.

Dan - Owner
Footwell%20Animation%20Tiny.gif

Basically, make a table of everything vs. everything and compute the deltas:

126.650 132.025 135.600 140.975
126.650 5.375 8.950 14.325
132.025 3.575 8.950
135.600 5.375

You can see 8.950 and 5.375 pop out as commom products.

And this extremely simplified "analysis" (barely) doesn't even include image frequencies and L.O.s.

I'll need a coffee before I can interpret into plain English.

Normally we let the E3 guys run their complicated software to do this stuff.

Okay...

140.975 MHz beats (mixes) with 132.025 MHz to produce a mixing product at 8.950 MHz. This then mixes with 135.600 MHz to land exactly on 126.650.