Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Tips on finding entry level positions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mech1

Mechanical
Aug 3, 2001
I'm a new user to Pro/E and at my current position the company only uses ACAD14. I've looked for entry level positions for Pro/E but have only found postings requiring 1000+ hours or more. If your fortunate you'll work for a company willing to train but i'm not in that situation. Any advice on getting past this obstacle?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Local tech school career placement offices (CO-OP) usually post job openings that are open to anyone, and they will generally provide OTJ training to get someone to the point that they can process low-level change orders, etc.

The company I previously worked for did this...I hired and trained about 8 people in my position. The only reason these jobs aren't easily found is that it's a gamble for the company. If you put in a bunch of training time and effort to get a new employee up to speed, there's about a 50% chance that they will either wind up being a sub-par employee or realize the amount of money they could be making somewhere else within a year.

If you are in the Atlanta, GA area, I might be able to put you in touch with a couple of companies that hire for entry-level positions.

Recneps

Have you considered working for PTC? If you have an M.E. degree or related, they hire many new users, then train them to be Application Engineers and Consultants. They have an office in Orange County. That is the best way to become a very sharp user.

Hey I was in the same situation about 3 months ago.