Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Tire Differences 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrianHa

Materials
Mar 27, 2010
US
Guys I'm hoping you will be able to help me. My expertise is not in automotive design. I am by profession a residential home designer so my engineering knowledge and analysis of automotive engineering is very limited. I have been reading chapter 1 of the "theory of ground vehicle". In my spare time I am also Chapter Educator (safety instructor) in the Goldwing Road Riders Assoc. The topic of running a car tire on the back of a large motorcycle (Goldwing) has come and I am wanting some hard data good or bad on how the a car tire is affected versus a motorcycle tire, if there is any. I have been searching the internet but keep get lead to forums where people are doing it but they have no hard data to back up their statements only their "opinions and personal experience". I have watched their vidoes and seen the car tires up on the shoulder of the tire and know that that can't beneficial. Do any of you know if there is any published reports by independent testers or tire manufactures and if so, where might I be able to find some information or point me in the right direction. Thanks for your help.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Advice is often only worth it's cost. True enough.

Nevertheless:

I rode a Goldwing for many years, over a hundred thousand miles. Rear tires were good for, at best, ten thousand miles. Using Goodyear 'run flats' while they were available and several other brands, I never had a failure related to "over loaded" condition. Choosing the proper size tire for the application and using a bit of common sense is paramount to a long life with motorcycles. I doubt mounting a car tire on a Goldwing would fit that description.

Rod

It's pretty straight forward in theory.