Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

To Lock Out or to Just Trip, That is the Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thriggen

Electrical
Dec 2, 2010
US
Im relatively new to protective relaying and I am trying to understand existing schemes that our utility uses.

I have a bus that is feeding a transformer with a NC tie breaker on one side and what I'll call an upstream breaker on the other side of the bus. There is differential protection for the bus that gets the Tie, the upstream, and the circuit switcher leading to the transformer.

My question is that if the differential trips, we lockout the bus. Locking out the bus will ask the tie, and the upstream and the circuit switcher to trip to isolate the fault. Should those breakers also be locked out? I'm thinking they only need to be locked out if they fail, in which it would then lock out and ask their upstream breakers to trip.

To me thats the best way to do it, but I have not been in the protection business for that long. Will each utility do it different, or is there a protection bible out there that shows you the standard way of doing things. Thanks for all comments.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Generally Speaking..

If a device is tripped for a permanent, serious fault (transformer differential), you want to isolate (trip) all sources and block closing / reclosing until further investigation is performed. For this reason, the lock out relay is also in series with the close circuit of the devices tripped. The LOR must be reset to enable closing.

You will normally see this with any type of differential protection as
the protection scheme provides zone protection and has determined that the fault is within that defined zone. For transformers, you may also