Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

topo map of NJ 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

davshkl

Civil/Environmental
Nov 23, 2015
US
I just relocated to NJ, work with ... small land development firm. They use USGS map to determine storm drainage areas.
I am trying to find topo map of NJ with contours at least every 5'.
Does anybody knows website where I can download such map?
Thank you!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I appreciate time both you (God's representative "I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!" and History professor) took to respond to my question. I am sure, you know a lot, but, unfortunately, you missed the main point of my question - I am looking for the topo map with contours every 2 or 5 feet. Both suggestions go to USGS map with contours every 20' ...
PS. I just do not like arrogance ...

Data is available form the USGS. You will need to add the contours.

New Jersey - All counties are covered by LiDAR data with a vertical accuracy of 13-18.5 cm which supports 1-2 foot contours. Most of this data is available on the USGS National Elevation Dataset (NED) or CLICK websites.

You could download a 3D map from Google and import it as a geo-located image into Trimble SketchUp and then project planes through the image on 5' spacing and the intersection of the planes and the 3D image will be contours with 5' spaces. There is a video on You tube that shows how to do it. Search for 3D contour mapping.

Jim

Whoa, be careful "just adding contours". Mapping is created with specific tolerances in place. For instance the error associated (as I have been told) is typically +/- 1/2 contour interval. Just adding contours will not provide a reduction in error.