Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

torque of motor requirement??? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

slithers

Mechanical
Oct 19, 2005
GB
sorry to ask such a dumb question. but i am a newb.... anyway here goes,

i have a block of plastic which i need to move in a linear direction 10mm and back to start position. i am going to use a rack and pinion with a servo attached (the rack attached to the plastic). can anyone please give me some advice/formula's to work from, especially on which motor to use. (torque rating i.e. in-oz, kg-mm ).

thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Torque = Force * Pinion Radius
Force = Coefficient of Friction * Weight of Plastic
Force is also equal to mass times acceleration, so if you have a particular acceleration that you require, you will need to consider it in the equation.
Use the torque to calculate horsepower for the motor.

Just some basics...

Measure or calculate how much force it will take to move the assembly then multiply it by the pitch radius of the pinion gear.

For example: If it takes 5 newtons of force to move the rack and the pitch diameter of the pinion gear is 50 mm.

5 N * 25 mm = 125 N-mm or .125 N-m.

You then calculate at what the rpm needs to be.

Barry1961

hey, thanks for the response guys, do you/anyone also have an opinion that a servo is suitable or a stepper motor? the mass i am working with is only just above 1kg. i need presision movement though (to about 0.1- 0.4mm). i don't usually deal with motors so i am new to this,

any thoughts would be much appreciated.

If you would give the details of what you are trying to do it would help. The speed and move profile would be a good start. Is this is cycling 100 times a second or 10 times a day?