Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Total Pressure of refrigerant blend 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gem24

Military
Jul 14, 2003
US
How do you figure the total pressure of a cylinder with a mixture of two refrigerants? Will the total pressure be the pressure of the higher pressure refrigerant?

(I am not a military engineer....i am a mechanical engineer...i don't know how that got there.)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Blends are a mixture of 2 or more refrigerants. The mixture is formulated to provide refrigerant properties suitable for a specific temperature application. Blends come in 2 categories; Azeotropes and Zeotropes.

Azeotropes (500 series)
Azeotropes are refrigerant blends which evaporate and condense exactly like a pure component at some temperature and pressure. They may not behave in this fashion at all temperatures and pressures but they will be close.
Example: R-502

Zeotropes (400 series)
Zeotropes are refrigerant blends which show some amount of temperature glide when evaporating or condensing. In other words they may not always have a precise Temperature/Pressure relationship like a pure refrigerant always has. Some may act like Azeotropes and glide may not be noticeable. Zeotropes with glide greater than 3 ºF will have one end of the evaporator warmer than the other which may affect system performance. If we put a pressure guage on a bottle of blended refrigerant we would read the pressure of the greatest P/T relationship at that ambient temp and it would be the one with the highest leakage rate
Roger
Roger