Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Transitioning form NX6 to NX12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Franklin M.

Aerospace
Jan 20, 2018
US
Gentlemen.

I'm transitioning for V6 to V12. I'm an NC programmer so the bulk of questions will be CAM related. My thought is posting questions here will be quicker in the long run than calling CTAC or my re-seller (who tries but is frequently lacking). Though I find the new menus cumbersome and slower than their predecessors I will try to refrain from whining and move on.

So here are my first questions. In a Planar mill oper in V6 I could change the plane of the boundary using select/complete when editing the boundaries. It would appear I have select each boundary and restate the plane in v12.

NX12 also wants to create an interpart link for each piece of geometry I use as a part surface. Should I just promote the whole part and be done with it or I can turn the linking off in Users Defaults. Speaking of which where in the User Defaults is the pointer for Assembly Load behavior (i.e. from folder, as saved etc).

Regards, Frank

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are you speaking of changing the plane of multiple boundaries at the same time (propagate plane)? I looked into planar mill boundaries and it appears the plane options disappear when selecting more than one boundary. I may be missing something, I don't use planar operations much these days.

I am a bit confused about when interpart linking is happening. You should be able to use component geometry without prompts for linking. Can you be more descriptive about your file structures?

As for assembly load behavior I didn't see much in customer defaults but in the File-Open dialog there some load options in the lower left corner.

NX