Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Trapezoidal Loads??

Status
Not open for further replies.

LepleyMIWD

Structural
May 19, 2006
US
Hey everyone.

I am an engineer at MI Windows and Doors. We make all kinds of windows and doors and have 4 or 5 companies under our belts. My question is...

We are looking into getting an FEA program that will integrate with Inventor. We dont have IVPro or we wouldnt need to buy an FEA program. We called autodesk and they said we would have to upgrade to IVPro 11 for 8000. So does anyone know how much Algor is and will it do trapezoidal loading on beams.

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If you are just looking for linear, static capability, it will probably be in the same ballpark as IVPro 11...maybe more, but talk to Algor and see.

I haven't used beams in quite a while, but I'm pretty sure it will do trapezoidal loads. I seem to recall that you apply one magnitude at end "A" and another magnitude at end "B" and it basically draws a straight line between the two magnitudes.

If you are using autodesk products to integrate with Algor and you are modeling the doors/windows in solids, you may want to consider using a hydrostatic load instead. You can manipulate the density of the "fluid" so that you get the proper pressures on your structure, but from that method, you will definitely get a trapezoidal load.

Garland E. Borowski, PE
Borowski Engineering & Analytical Services, Inc.
Lower Alabama SolidWorks Users Group