Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Triaxial Testing - Which test to run at which situation? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

tocoadog

Geotechnical
Dec 4, 2002
US
CD, CU, Quick Test. I was asked by a junior engineer that this morning, and I couldn't answer with confidence.

Any comments would be appreciative. I have very little experience with clays, but in the past we have always performed drained tests on sands. Also, shouldn't you always run undrained on clays to model the potential for pore water pressures inthe future? Also, when to run consolidated as oppossed to unconsolidated? Potential fill materials for unconsolidated? Again, any help would be great. As you can guess, this is killing me trying to find the answer??

Btw, I did look for the topic in past threads, and while I may have overlooked a post, I didn't see anything that specifically answered the question.

Thanks again.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi,
It may be the best to see a soil mechanics text or three about this. That way, you'll have the necessary strength and pore pressure diagrams to see too, which are really helpful in understanding the differences between CD, CU, and UU testing. Once you understand those testing formats, the idea behind the Torvane shear strength device, pocket penetrometer, and the vane shear test will also become clearer. Additionally, you should become very familiar with Critical State Soil Mechanics.

I can offer the following facts on this topic and then maybe some others will chime in. We can fill in the gaps as the discussion unfolds, and I can be corrected where it is appropriate. I’ve always been interested in this stuff and I use it frequently, I’ve never tried to explain it to anyone before. Let’s give it a try…