Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Trying to Understand Control Valve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cbrunner

Industrial
Mar 19, 2008
US
Hello Everyone;
By comparable standards I'm really new to Hydraulic troubleshooting (although I do a lot of install work). A friend of mine brought me his bucket truck. It uses pilot operated main valves down at the lower section. The pilot controls (oil) are fed up the boom to the bucket.
The initial problems that he was facing was a slow/sluggish response from the control handle located in the bucket. During operation on one of their last jobs, a chunck of wood fell and shattered the pilot supply line comming from the valve bank at the lower section.
He reports having tried all different types of nylon and poly tubing, all having exploded within minutes of install. Checking the pressure of the pilot line revealed the control valve set to 1000 psi. From all of the research that I have done, it sounds to me like there are few, if any nylon tubing sources that supply this high a working pressure of tube.
I performed the normal maintenance of his truck, pulled the return and supply filters to change/clean. Upon disection of the return filter, I found it completely clogged with contaminents. The return housing had been operating in bypass mode for so long that the bypass spring was permently compressed. The suction filter from the tank was a 100uf (I believe) washable steel filter element. After some time in the dip tank, it came clean once again (packed with debries before it went for a little dip).