Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Two Stage Seismic Analysis?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteelPE

Structural
Mar 9, 2006
US
I am in the process of designing a steel/wood framed building. I have designed wood framed buildings and steel framed buildings but never the two of them combined together. The structure is 2 stories of wood over a single story steel frame with approximate dimensions of 70’ square (not large). The building is in a somewhat high wind zone (Vult = 130mph).

I am currently running the lateral loads analysis on the building. I have never done a 2 stage analysis before but from what I can tell, it seems like a chicken or the egg scenario (in order to get a proper period you need to know deflections of the building so you can run a more accurate period analysis…. But you need lateral loads to run this analysis).

Regardless, I have run an analysis utilizing R=3 for the entire structure. Based upon this analysis I am seeing less demand in the structure due to seismic than I am for wind (wind demand is 47 kips for the top two stories vs 30 kips for seismic in the top two stories using R=3 for the entire structure).

So the question is, in this instance, is there any benefit of using a 2 stage analysis?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

SteelPE said:
So the question is, in this instance, is there any benefit of using a 2 stage analysis?