Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

UG vs. the midrange packages

Status
Not open for further replies.

cowski

Mechanical
Apr 23, 2000
US
I have been using UG now for about 4 years for injection molded part design; previously (at my last job) I used Mechanical Desktop for small mechanical assemblies (which it handled fairly well). When I moved to UG I was amazed at the surfacing and blending capabilities and how it handled complex assemblies with relative ease. Since then, the midrange packages (Solidedge, Solidworks, Inventor, etc) have been boasting longer and longer feature lists and I'm wondering what advantages UG still holds over them in terms of modeling and assembly capabilities. I realize that there are many add on packages to UG (sheet metal, die design, wire routing, etc) but if you don't use those (I don't) what keeps you from using a lower cost package?

If you have experience with a lower cost package and UG, please post your opinions. Let's assume you don't have 20 years of legacy data to worry about, just the pros/cons of using the software.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have 17+ years on UG and 3 on Pro/E, so my answer is biased towards them.

The first thing to look at is what are you doing with UG? If you are only designing the parts or maybe the molds, then a lower level package may be okay.

If you are doing the part design, tool design and manufacturing toolpaths, then the tighter integration you get with UG may be worth the extra money.

"Wildfires are dangerous, hard to control, and economically catastrophic."

Ben Loosli
CAD/CAM System Analyst
Ingersoll-Rand