Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

UL 58 Rated Tank - Need capacity

Status
Not open for further replies.

RiverBeav

Structural
Feb 6, 2020
US
I am a structural engineer by trade, but have a situation where a contractor needs to operate a heavy tracked equipment above a fuel tank buried in soil. All I have been told is that it is UL 58 rated, but this is likely an older fuel tank since the location that it was placed was built quite a long time ago (50's to 70's timeframe). The peak track pressure is somewhere in the 60 to 90 psi range on 2'-6" wide tracks, which is approximately 8500 psf to 13000 psf applied pressure above these tanks. The tank is buried a few feet into the soil, so that pressure will be reduced and equalized somewhat by the soil. Of course, we could do something to spread that load out some more above the ground, but it would still be a pretty large overburden pressure on top of one of these tanks, and exceeds typical truck loading effects.

I don't have a copy of UL 58, and it costs quite a bit to purchase. I suspect like any code, it just governs how you are supposed to design the tank, but may not provide minimum loads that tanks designed under its guidelines would be capable of supporting. How does that code handle the design of tanks for traffic loads?

Approving the operation of equipment above a tank like this is outside of my expertise. Just curious as to what is in the UL 58 code, how to know the capacity of tanks for supporting overburden loads, and what kind of mechanical engineer would be able to handle that analysis?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You don't have enough information.
They have to tell you the size and orientation of the tank.
What edition of UL-58 was it built to?