Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Understanding construction types, fire ratings, seperations 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geoffre14

Structural
Jul 30, 2008
US
I am a structural engineer. I need to better understand when we can use wood framing and when we must use light gauge or other noncombustible materials. I am looking for a cliff's-notes-style primer on this part of the building code. Do you know of any good resources?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Don't know what code you are dealing with... the National Building Code of Canada is fairly straight forward with spatial separation and there is a reasonable commentary.

Dik

dik & SlideRuleEra, thanks for the help and links. I am printing now and will read. At first glance this looks very helpful.

I am working in USA. Feel free to chime in with any other resources you might find helpful.

I read SRE's three articles and got a lot out of them. I feel that there's still potential for something more targeted if it exists out there anyplace. Like OP, I've often wanted more clear and consolidated guidance on fire for structural engineers. At the extremes you have:

1) Fundamental fire philosophy like the three articles.
2) Straight up code provisions.

I'd love it if there were a middle document that consolidated all of the issues that a structural engineer might be involved in with regard to fire. All materials, fire walls, fire proofing, and just enough of the architectural stuff that we could anticipate spatial problems in advance and help to solve them.

I've found this to be somewhat in the ballpark: Link