Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Underwater laser

Status
Not open for further replies.

HVACctrl

Mechanical
Dec 13, 2002
US
I am researching the possibility of building a device which utilizes an underwater laser. Can anyone give me advice on where to start? Are there any tricky considerations for underwater use? Green laser instead of red and why? Is refraction due to water temps a problem, etc...?

I would really appretiate any help anyone can provide! I'm new to lasers, but pretty much up to speed on control systems and a little on electronics.

Thanks,

Ed

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is a narrow window in the blue-green that is somewhat transmissive. This is the window that underwater mine detection system use.

However, the turbidity is the real killer in sea water. It effectively limits semi-narrow beam transmission to around 60 m.

TTFN

IRstuff is quite right. As a more simplistic explanation, you have to take into account that water absorbs different frequencies of light, with distance. As an example, while SCUBA diving, you will note that the deeper you go, the more light is absorbed by the water. As you get quite deep, you will note that everything looks kind of blueish. This is because blue is the last frequency of light to be absorbed. At depth, I have to use an alternate light source, if I want to see objects in their true color.
Thermalcline is another factor to take into account. This is a point where the water changes temperature and is seen as an actual layer or film. The thermalcline is also in motion, just as the surface of the water above. Thermal changes in the water, (convection current) such as water rising and falling will also cause deviation of the beam.